No Time Like the Present

Bucket List

My first blog assignment was to pick a Visual assignment from the DS106 Assignment Bank (DS106 Assignment Bank ). As I was viewing the different assignments the Bucket List topic caught my eye.  The assignment was, if I choose to accept….

So… Everyone should have a bucket list. What’s on yours? For this assignment you should create a collage with AT LEAST four pictures of four different things you have on your bucket list. Add text to your picture of what or where it is. Then briefly tell us why it is on your bucket list. A good site to use for creating your collage would be Be Funky.

I choose to accept this assignment because it made me stop and think. My Mother passed away recently and this topic made me wonder if she had a bucket list, and if so did she do the things on her list. I have a mental bucket list but never took the time to write my items down. I have heard that if you write things down then they are concrete so perhaps the items will get accomplished.

The first item on my bucket list is travel. I love to travel and the top country on my list is Ireland. I think it is so beautiful and would be interesting to visit.  I feel it is important to experience other cultures. Plus my ancestors are from Ireland. Which leads me to the next item on my bucket list. I want to create an ancestry tree. I started one for my previous class but didn’t have time to really dive deep into my past.I want to give my tree a shake and see what kind of fascinating characters will fall out. So my hope is that after I graduate I will take the time and research my family’s past and learn about my relatives. I think family is so important and so my next bucket list item is to take my two sons to Disney World. I have always wanted to take them there but my ex-husband would use the excuse we didn’t have the money or he couldn’t take off of work. So I can check one item off my bucket list – I took my sons to Disney World last year. We had so much fun and it was a great adventure we shared together and memories to last for years.

The next bucket items are about me. I sometimes think what my ideal day would  be like. I am so busy with school, work, kids, boyfriend, friends etc that  I would like to have a day that’s all about me. My goal is once I graduate to make one day every month about me! I would want to take this one day and think about only what I want to do for the day. I know this sounds selfish but sometimes I think taking that one day to be self-centered may help me with all the other things in life. The next item is to see Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds in concert sitting in the third row!  I enjoy Dave Matthews and to see these two guys without a makeup band will be so intimate and a great experience. The last item is a luxury car. I want to go and buy a car with bells and whistles. I am not talking about a car over $80k but something in the mid price range. I spend so much time in my car I would love to have a car that wasn’t about the monthly payments or what is practical but what I WANT.  So hopefully I will get to check off more of my items on my bucket list.

I used BeFunky to create my photo collage (BeFunky).  It was recommended by the DS106 Assignment Bank and glad I used it. It was very user-friendly. I used the website’s image library to locate the pictures for my bucket list. Once I uploaded them it was easy to place on the collage. I decided to used text to explain the pictures and it was fun trying out the different fonts and styles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

