Week 1 Digital Story Critique – Work-Life Balance

For my first digital story critique I choose something about work-life balance. This is an area that raises my interest. For the last eight years I have not had any work-life balance. I worked 10-12 hours daily while going to school and being a single-mom. I recently switched jobs and I don’t want to fall back into the same trap.

I thought this might help me start on the path to a better work-life balance. I have attached the link so perhaps it can help someone else.

Nigel Marsh: How to make work-life balance work

Work-life balance, says Nigel Marsh, is too important to be left in the hands of your employer. Marsh lays out an ideal day balanced between family time, personal time and productivity — and offers some stirring encouragement to make it happen.

The assignment was to critique a digital story by selecting three traits from Jason Ohler’s assessment traits: http://www.jasonohler.com/storytelling/assessment.cfm.  The three traits that I selected were: 1) Story, 2) Flow, organization and pacing, and 3) presentation and performance. I decided to select these traits because I wanted to see if what Nigel was discussing was engaging, helpful and organized in a way that kept my interest.

Story: The story worked well and was a subject that is becoming more important to the workforce. Nigel made the subject interesting and had realistic examples. Nigel has the experience and is a subject expert in the field. He broke down the fundamentals of work-life balance in a way that everyone could understand. He gave suggestions the audience could actually start utilizing once they left the room.

Flow, organization and pacing: The flow was great and the organization of the story kept to the point. Nigel kept an ideal pace so people was engaged and not bored. He didn’t intimidate people with harsh words or blaming techniques. He keep it light but yet impactful. He hit on some important aspects of work-life balance and how not having balance truly does impact your life.

Presentation and performance: Nigel was a great speaker and grabbed the audience attention. He used laughter in his example and the examples were realistic. The audience was able to realize the reality of their situations and apply what he was saying to their personal lives. He was very charismatic and sincere.

I felt that each of the traits I selected was successfully present and utilized adequately in the story. It was helpful for me and I learned some things I loved how he reminded the audience that even small work-life accomplishments matter and to invest in the right places.The modification/change  to the digital story that might have improved the story was to include some tips on how to set the boundaries and follow through with the boundaries.

Leave a Reply

