Tips for acquiring Work-Life Balance Utilizing Time Management

Welcome to Week 5 of our Video Storytelling adventure. My chosen theme is work-life balance so I try to find a video that will help myself  & others interested in work-life balance. This week I choose a video from Brian Tracy about 4 Time Management Tips for Work-Life Balance.

As you have read in my other blogs, I am working on a better work-life balance. I have switched jobs and am really enjoying my new position. This team values work-life balance and after two months I am still keeping my boundaries solid. I feel that achieving work-life balance is a continuous learning. Everyone’s definition of work-life balance is different but as long you feel YOU are achieving work-life balance then that’s all that matters.

I found the video story at YouTube and here is the link; 4 Time Management Tips for Work Life Balance.

The assignment was to critique a digital story by selecting three traits from Jason Ohler’s assessment traits:Digital Critique. The three traits that I selected were: 1) Story, 2) Media application and 3)Sense of audience. I decided to select these traits because I felt these were traits that invokes feelings for me.

Story: This video is from one of Brian Tracy’s collection.Brian Tracy is a Canadian entrepreneur, public speaker, author and personal and professional development trainer.  Tracy is Chairman and CEO of Brian Tracy International, a company specializing in the training and development of individuals and organizations.In this particular video Tracy is detailing 4 time management tips that can help you obtain your work-life balance. It isn’t anything new but just told in a different format. It is mostly about positive thinking and repetition. I think he gives some valuable tips and some things that I will start to incorporate into my work life.

Media Application: I thought this video was informative. I think he used his hands too much and sometimes it distracted me. It might have been more engaging if he had some slides or some type of visuals. Sometimes visuals help the audience associate what is being said with the words themselves. But he spoke very well and his face expressions was appropriate. The appearance was more like a TED Talk  – a presentation/lecture.

Sense of Audience: Tracy had a good sense of his audience. He knew what people would be viewing the video and spoke directly to the topic. Tracy gave informative and easy tips that the audience could start utilizing right away. The tips were manageable and didn’t leave the audience feeling overwhelmed.

Overall the video was information and an easy watch. The feedback I have is perhaps to include some slides or visuals to help the audience associate the tips. Also don’t use the hands so much. I gained some new tips to help me continue my work-life balance. As noted earlier, these tips are easy and something you can start right away. I value any video that can help me maintain the work-life balance with suggestions that I have control over. You can’t expect your organization or manager to help you with work-life balance so any self-help tips are more manageable.

I hope you learn something new …

Leave a Reply

