Meet My Work-Life Family

Check out my latest blog – the DS106 Assignment Bank creation for Week 6.

So Week 6 DS106 Assignment Bank creation assignment was to select any assignment from any category on the DS106 Assignment Bank website that explores my chosen storytelling theme.

So what was my chosen storytelling theme….. it is about work-life balance and the assignment I selected was titled, “We’re the Real Life Brady Bunch!”

Most everyone has seen the infamous picture of The Brady Bunch where everyone in the family is showcased in their own personal box. Now it’s your turn!! Whether your actual family or your close group of friends, make a collage mimicking the picture shown below. Be creative with the title. Make the title alliteration either with your last name or some-sort of name you wish to call your group. In your post, explain why you chose the people you did in your collage.

 

I am working on a better work-life balance and this could not have been obtained without support from my work-life family. My family is important to me and I couldn’t survive with the support from each and everyone shown on my picture frame. They each have a different role to help me sustain my work-life balance. The first row starts from the left is my youngest son (Devin), next is me, and then my oldest son (Ryan). The next row is Russell (work), my album name, and Carmen (work). The third row is Lydia (work), my boyfriend (Kerry), and my best friend (Lori). I couldn’t make my work-life balance work without each of their support and advice. Once you have people in your corner, the task is easier to accomplish than doing it all on your own.

To complete this assignment, I utilized a new software, PicMonkey. I choose what type of collage I wanted and then loaded my pictures. Once I had my pictures uploaded, I then placed them in the correct box. I saved the finished product onto my computer. I then utilized  Fotoflexer to add the album name to the middle box. I played around with the different functions to learn how to place a border around the whole creation and inserted a background for the album name box. It was exciting to learn a new software and to expand on a software I had used previously.

I enjoyed created this collage about my work-life family. It helped me realize I have lots of support from all aspects of my life. I couldn’t achieve what I have accomplished these last few years without the help of everyone pictured.

Enjoy –

Assignment Bank

Leave a Reply

